Board index Everything Else Introductions Hello

Hello

A place to introduce yourself and tell us what your interests and goals are in alternative healing.

Post Thu Feb 20, 2014 11:17 pm

I'm originally from Southeastern Idaho, and now live in Utah County. For some strange reason, I've always been interested in plants and learning what they are good for. My kids tease me that I talk to the plants--but really they talk to me. :P

By profession, I have been a registered nurse for over 30 years. So when my children were little, I took them to the doctor like I thought you were suppose to. However, as the years went on, I began to see that the doctors did not always have the answers we needed. It was homeopathics that reversed my son's severe asthma/bronchitis, and herbal treatments that have given him relief on the odd occasions that it flairs back up. The list of ailments we've used natural medicine for through the years would take too long to tell. Even though I feel there is a place for modern medicine, it is now my last resort, and rarely needed. Besides my children and grandchildren, the neighbors are calling, asking for a remedy for this or that. My favorite one is a tummy tea I mix up for when the babies are having colic. I have their mommy drink it, wait 20 minutes, and then nurse the baby. The first time we tried it out, my newborn granddaughter (who hadn't been sleeping well because of colic, for several nights) fell into a deep sleep for several hours. I was terrified I'd killed her. But no, she woke up happy and without a hint of tummy ache. It's never failed to work yet.