Board index Botanical Medicine Herbal Medicine Making Tincture Making

Tincture Making

Post Tue Aug 15, 2017 12:57 pm

Hi Everyone.
I've been making tinctures for my own use for nearly 30 years. I am self taught from books so apologies if I'm not using the correct terminology.

I've always wondered what the best techniques are for getting the most tincture (liquid) out of the material you're extracting it from.

I recently had to make several root tinctures from finely powdered roots and have found it almost impossible to separate some of them when they are ready. A couple of them have had the consistency of chocolate sauce!

I normally use muslin cloth and squeeze by hand over a bowl, but this doesn't work at all with some of them. I've tried coffee filters but they either take forever or almost instantly clog up to the point where nothing else goes through. What do other members do with these?
Thanks.

Post Tue Aug 15, 2017 11:12 pm
Doc Jones User avatar
Site Admin

We use regular cotton cloth (like a cloth handkerchief).

We also use a tincture press. Some things are harder to press than others.

Doc

Post Wed Aug 16, 2017 3:17 am
IdahoHerbalist User avatar
Site Admin

Muslin is good. For our commercial purposes I get a heavy duty cotton/poly napkin. Handkerchiefs work good for hand pressing or for those things that will wreck the cloth, like boswellia.

Post Wed Aug 16, 2017 12:15 pm

Thanks guys, that's a great help. When I would try to press them the muslin cloth would burst.

One other question, when tincturing these dry powders a 1:5 tincture often results in a paste that seems to dry, not a liquid like I'm used to. Is this OK or would you add more alcohol?

Post Wed Aug 16, 2017 6:28 pm
Site Admin

My take for our business is we REALLY would like to keep it at 1:5. I RARELY add more liquid. Yield may be lower but I have not looked really closely at yield in that condition...... Thanks, now I have another LEFT BRAIN thing to check out!!!! :yahoo: